sickday

I am swallowing
raw garlic like ibuprofen pills and devouring
kale salad like it’s my job.
Last night I sneezed with Airborne still
in my mouth and almost caused
my keyboard to be a casualty of this
war. My mother used to tell me my body
was a castle, with soldiers to protect me
from sniffles and upset tummies. You have
to help them fight, she’d say, by eating all these
green leafy things you normally leave
on your plate before you declare
the only room left in your stomach
is for dessert. Well, check it out mom- I’m following
your advice and enjoying every bite, but still
I have the thought that I must be really sick
if this is more appealing
than a brownie.

2014-05-03 11.18.43

2 thoughts on “sickday

    • Thanks! Yeah. I believe pretty strongly in the superiority of brownies to most other foods. 😉

Leave a Reply

